LPC leader

The Liberal Party of Canada party leader is given broad discretion to change policies and govern as he sees fit. There have been some efforts to change this, none of them very successful. The latest, by Tom Axworthy - backed by Carolyn Bennett and Belinda Stronach - proposes to give LPC members some status and recourse when party platforms aren't honoured in office, as historically they have not been.

Only two LPC leaders have not become Prime Minister of Canada in the party's entire history, which goes back 140 years.

The current interim leader is Bill Graham. The next elected leader will be chosen at the Liberal Party of Canada leadership convention, 2006.